The ETLS is open to every enterprise located and operating in any of the 15 ECOWAS Member States that intend to export the product within the region. All enterprises are bound by the rules spelt out in the protocols and regulations governing the ETLS. These protocols include: A/P1/1/03 of 31st January 2003 and Regulations C/REG.3/4/0, C/REG.4/4/02, C/REG.5/4/02. (See Protocols and Regulations governing the ETLS available on,, the ECOWAS Commission and ECOWAS National Units).

Enterprises from Export Processing Zones or Free Zones and any other special economic schemes or customs territory may not benefit from the ETLS

The Scheme has undergone a series of transformation in respect of the categories of goods that are covered.